Road Safety Task Force and Projects

Safety Task Force

The Safety Task Force has representatives from state and territory road agencies, the National Transport Commission, the Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development, and the Australian Local Government Association.

The Task Force's research program relates to each of the four cornerstones of the safe system: safe roads and roadsides, safe vehicles, safe speeds and safe road users. The program has been designed to support delivery of the National Road Safety Strategy 2011-2020. The Strategy sets a target of reducing the annual number of deaths and serious injuries on Australian roads by at least 30%. It outlines ‘first steps’ actions to be undertaken in the first three years of the strategy and ‘future steps’ actions which will be undertaken after the first review of the Strategy.

The Task Force coordinates research that is working towards:

  • incorporating safe system principles and practices into Austroads Guides and other documents
  • delivering National Road Safety Strategy and NZ’s ‘Safer Journeys’ initiatives including:
    - guidelines for graduated licensing
    - risk-based speed limit setting methodology
  • initiatives to support the Global Decade of Action for Road Safety
  • investigating emerging road safety issues
  • investigating potential applications of cooperative ITS to produce improved safety outcomes
  • maintaining the Guide to Road Safety.

Safety Task Force Projects

Project NumberProject NameProgramSub-programStatus
SAG6145Review of the Guide to Road Safety and structure for online accessSafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6132A national approach to measuring non-fatal crash outcomes: stage 2SafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6130Integrating Safe System with Movement and Place for vulnerable road usersSafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6126An Australian drink driving policy and regulatory frameworkSafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6041Road system management tool: part A scoping SafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6223National prediction model (implications for the next National Road Safety Strategy)SafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6226Vehicles as a workplace: deployment and promotionSafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6221Revision of the Guide to Road Safety Part 6A: Implementation of Road Safety Audits in the context of the new Part 6SafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive
SAG6222Motorcycle rider perceptive countermeasuresSafetyRoad Safety Task ForceActive

Program Contacts

The Safety Task Force is part of the Austroads Safety Program.

Safety Program Manager: David Bobbermen

Safety Program Coordinator: Leonie Pattinson
Austroads | Level 9, 287 Elizabeth Street | Sydney NSW 2000
Phone: +61 2 8265 3335