Table of Contents

3.1.1 Functional Classification

Classification systems vary from one road/traffic agency to another. Some use a three-level classification system, while others use four or five levels. Similarly, the terminology used to describe the road classes varies. It is useful to treat motorways as a distinct class because of their pure mobility function with no access function. Discussion of traffic management strategies in this Guide is therefore based on the following four-level functional classification system:

  • motorways
  • arterial roads
  • distributor/collector roads
  • local roads and streets.

Further discussion of road classification issues can be found in Commentary 3 and Part 5 (Austroads 2014a) of the Guide.