National Prequalification

About the National Prequalification System

The National Prequalification System for Civil (Road and Bridge) Construction Contracts classifies contractors who wish to tender for road and bridge construction contracts.

The system is administered by the state and territory road agencies.

The prequalification system classifies contractors who wish to tender for road and bridge construction contracts. The classification is based on the contractor's technical and managerial expertise, financial capacity and previous performance. The scheme is locally administered by the state and territory road agencies.

There is no "central" body that manages the prequalification process. Rather, contractors seeking to prequalify under the system must apply directly with the participating agency of their choice. Once prequalified, eligible contractors may seek to have their prequalification status recognised by other participating agencies - subject to certain restrictions and conditions.

The system is documented in the National Prequalification System for Civil (Road and Bridge) Construction (2017 Edition) .

This website details the prequalification categories and levels, and the process of  seeking prequalification. It also hosts a list of prequalified contractors.

Participating Agencies

A list of participating agencies, with their contact details and links to prequalification forms, is provided below.

JurisdictionParticipating agency and contactWebsite 

New South Wales

Roads and Maritime Services NSW

Mr Chris Martin
Tel: 0412 278 220
Christopher.MARTIN@rms.nsw.gov.au

Prequalification information and forms
Victoria

Roads Corporation Victoria (VicRoads)

Mr Neville Schmidt
Tel: 03 9854 2408
neville.schmidt@roads.vic.gov.au

Prequalification information and forms
Queensland

Department of Transport and Main Roads (TMR)

Mr Graham Hobbs
Tel: 07 3066 4337
graham.j.hobbs@tmr.qld.gov.au

Ms Kay Harding
Tel: 07 3066 2047
kay.f.harding@tmr.qld.gov.au

Prequalification information and forms
Western Australia

Main Roads Western Australia (MRWA)

Ms Belinda Stopic
Tel: 08 9323 4940
belinda.stopic@mainroads.wa.gov.au

Mr John Houghton
Tel: 08 9323 4240
john.houghton@mainroads.wa.gov.au
Prequalification information and forms
South Australia

Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure

Ms Sally Katianos
Tel: 08 8343 2042
sally.katianos@sa.gov.au

Prequalification information and forms
Tasmania

Department of State Growth (Transport)

Contract Services Group
Tel: 03 6233 6074 / 03 6233 6448
contractservices@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Prequalification information and forms
Northern Territory

Department of Trade, Business and Innovation

Mr Leigh Harris 
Tel: 08 8999 1723 
Leigh.harris@nt.gov.au

N/A
Australian Capital Territory

Procurement & Capital Works, Chief Minister, Treasury & Economic Development Directorate, Australian Capital Territory

Ms Lee-Anne Aldwell
Tel: 02 6207 5982
Lee-Anne.Aldwell@act.gov.au

Prequalification information
Prequalification Guidelines

The system is documented in the National Prequalification System for Civil (Road and Bridge) Construction (2017 Edition).