Communiqué

Austroads Safety Hardware Training and Accreditation Scheme (ASHTAS) Review Committee Meeting No. 2



27 November 2023 | Video conference

The second meeting of the Austroads Safety Hardware Training and Accreditation Scheme (ASHTAS) Review Committee took place on Monday 27th November 2023. The attendance list for the meeting is provided in Table B.

ASHTAS delivers a high standard and nationally consistent set of training outcomes for individuals installing and maintaining road safety barriers in Australia and New Zealand.

At the meeting, presentations were made, and questions were addressed by:

- Philip Rosser Chair ASHTAS Review Committee (Specialist Engineer Road Design and Traffic (Roads), Victorian Department of Transport & Planning)
- Michael Nieuwesteeg Road Safety & Design Program Manager, Austroads
- Chris Koniditsiotis Lead Implementation Consultant, Austroads.

About ASHTAS

Austroads members, along with the road safety barrier industry, have been concerned about the quality of installation of road safety barriers which may put the safety of the public and road workers at risk.

To address this issue, Austroads worked with Australian state and territory road transport agencies, NZ Transport Agency Waka Kotahi, and industry representatives to introduce a nationally consistent training and ongoing accreditation program to ensure that all installers and operatives in the workforce understand how to install, repair, and maintain road safety barriers correctly following the manufacturer's specifications and best practices.

ASHTAS is a training and accreditation scheme comprising a graduated pathway for individuals. The individual's pathway entails entry-level safety and operational awareness, and then generic installation training. An individual can then undertake training in specific road safety barrier types, e.g., W-Beam/Thrie Beam or flexible/wire rope safety barriers, etc. For each of the road safety barrier types, associated proprietary specific road safety barrier system training is also provided.

Members were positive about the commencement and operational delivery of ASHTAS.

ASHTAS Review Committee Terms of Reference

The ASHTAS Review Committee Terms of Reference were updated to reflect comments from members and agreed.

The purpose of the ASHTAS Review Committee is to consider and review material concerning the ASHTAS initiative presented to it by Austroads, in doing so with the aim to:

- Consider and review Lantra-developed generic training material (this excludes proprietary specific training material)
- Consider and review Lantra-developed accreditation documentation and systems
- Provide input and consideration to issues impacting ASHTAS.

The members congratulated Philip Rosser and Will Young on their appointment as Chair and Vice Chair respectively of the ASHTAS Review Committee. Austroads will provide the secretariat services.

It was agreed that ASHTAS Review Committee meetings would be nominally held six monthly.

ASHTAS Training and Accreditation

An overview of the ASHTAS initiative was presented including the already completed implementation stage activities and the operations to date. In particular, the ASHTAS eco-system, including the roles and responsibilities of the different entities and their associated processes was presented.

Lantra has three approved training providers as follows:

- Roading Industry Support Services
- Workzone Training
- Safe System Solutions.

Interest from other training providers has also been shown. **Training providers seeking to become** approved training providers for ASHTAS are invited to engage with Lantra.

Training is well underway with the Operative course being delivered. The table below shows the status as of mid-November 2023.

Table A – Operative course status as of mid – November 2023

	October 2023	November 2023	Total
Enrolled	258	73	331
Successful - Passed	238	13	251
Currently undergoing training		60	60
Not successful – Did not pass	20		20
e-Cards Issued: 174			

Members discussed the early learnings and observations. It was agreed that Lantra and Austroads would ensure the Installer course training material is ready for roll-out in early 2024.

Members noted that there may be value for some designers in undertaking the operative course. Lantra advised that the theory component of the installer course would be useful for designers in lieu of a tailored course and accreditation for designers. A designer's course will be considered for future development.

Road Safety Barrier Suppliers

Proprietary-specific road safety barrier system training material is not a duplicate of the generic training material, but rather specific to the supplier's road safety barrier system that builds on or addresses the differences to the generic type.

Two road safety barrier providers had submitted up to six proprietary systems for training material development. One had been approved and Lantra advised that the remaining five will be completed by end of December 2023. Australian and New Zealand road safety barrier providers are invited to engage with Lantra to ensure their proprietary systems are included in the proprietary installer training material.

Jurisdictional Adoption

Jurisdictions advised their adoption plans. Mandating from 1 July 2024 are the following:

- Transport for New South Wales
- Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads
- Department of Transport and Planning Victoria.

It was noted that Austroads had promoted ASHTAS, and this promotion shall continue especially supporting jurisdictional announcements and time frames.

Table B – Attendee list

Organisation	Name
Department of Transport and Planning Victoria	Philip Rosser (Chair)
Steelgal	Will Young (Vice Chair)
LB Australia	Ryan Findlayson
Valmont Industries – Ingall Civil Products	John Dignam
Trafficworks	Paul Mihailidis
Evolution Civils	Ben Spletter
CSP	Neil Watson
Road Safety Audits	Peter Harris
Lantra	Robert Tabor Danni Fagan-Shaw
Roading Industry Support Services	Joseph Rosendaal
Workzone Training	Paul Meier
Safe System Solutions	Kenn Beer Tony Bull
Austroads	Chris Koniditsiotis Michael Nieuwesteeg
Austroads members	Jade Hogan, Transport for NSW (ASBAP Chair) Sue Philpott, Transport for NSW (ASBAP Secretary) Santosh Tripathi, Transport & Main Roads Queensland Evan Coulson, Department of Transport Victoria Cale Mariano, Main Roads WA Kim Laurenson, Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency Sam Hatzivalsamis, DIPL NT Ben Hubbard, TCSS ACT